Skip to main content Banner Image
LIBRARY

Library Services: Distance & Online Students

Services for Faculty, Students, Distance & Online Students, Community Borrowers, AHCOTE, UNBC

Distance & Online Students - Includes Human Development, Education and Care Department, and Students taking NLC online courses (direct or through BC Campus)

NLC is the primary source of library information for NLC students. Services are available online, in-person, by phone, and by email.

Visit the NLC Library web page from anywhere, 7 days a week, 24 hours a day, to locate general library information, library services, library holdings (books, videos, periodicals), "how to" guides, searchable databases and article indexes. Library Subject Guides provide lists of recommended reference books, links to selected web sites, and related information.

You may also contact a library near you, such as your local public library, college or university library, to meet your information needs.

Library Catalogue
Use the online Library catalogue to access library holdings (books in print, electronic books, films, periodicals) in all NLC campuses. If NLC does not have what you are looking for, search for library items outside of NLC, by clicking on “other BC Libraries (public, college, university).

Need Help? Contact your LIbrarian or have a virtual live chat through Askaway, Click here.

Students who are able to come to campus are considered to be local students and not students at a distance.

Click on the Green General Information Tab for information.

For students physically unable to come to an NLC campus library because of distance or disability.

Access our library webpages for: 

  • e-books, print books, streaming video, and other materials owned by the NLC Libraries in the Library Catalogue, "How to" Guides,and searchable databases for full-text journal and other periodical articles. Search all EBSCO databases & a number of partner databases, as well as, the NLC Library Catalogue, simultaneously using the OneSearch box in the Library Homepage.
  • Free interlibrary document delivery of journal and other periodical articles.
  • Library Subject Guides for lists of recommended reference books, links to selected web sites, and related information.
  • Citing your sources and Copyright
  • Get Help from NLC Library staff and through AskAway (our online chat). See Green tab above called Get Help.

Electronic Resources

  • Access our e-books, databases and streaming videos using your 7 digit student number. Click here for Off-Campus Access information

What you can borrow                     

  • You may borrow items owned by the NLC Library from any campus.
    • Exclusions: newspapers, complete issues of magazines & journals, items on Reserve or Reference, DVDs and VHS tapes.
  • You must have a valid Library card number to borrow books.
  • Library materials are mailed to you free of charge and come with a prepaid return postage label.  Allow 1 - 2 weeks, on average, for materials to arrive at their destination depending on the Canada Post mail service. Holidays may add extra time.
  • Books are normally loaned for two weeks and should be mailed back on or before the due date to avoid overdue fines. Extended loan periods can be requested, as long as the requests are made prior to the due date and there is no hold on the item by another patron.
  • Library materials should be carefully repackaged in the package in which they were received, and the prepaid mailing label should be affixed to the package prior to posting.
  • Library materials may be returned in person to your closest NLC Campus library.
  • If you have overdue materials or outstanding charges, additional materials will not be sent to you, until all items are returned and all fines are paid. Failure to return items may result in replacement and processing charges and your academic transcripts will be withheld until your library record is cleared.

Interlibrary/Intercampus Document Delivery for Journal Articles

  • These articles will be sent to you free of charge via email through a program called Titanfile. When your document has arrived, you will receive an email from TitanFile.
    •  Click on the green Access Files button which will take you to a landing page.
    • The article can then be downloaded by clicking on the file name directly or clicking on the grey Download all Files button. 
    • TitanFile delivery satisfies Canadian Copyright Law and our document delivery service is still free.

Interlibrary Loans

  • NLC is able to send copies of Journal articles through TitanFile at no cost to you.
  • NLC is unable to obtain physical print & audiovisual materials from other libraries.
  • NLC is unable to provide access to e-books and streaming videos from other libraries.
  • Please contact a library near you, such as your local public library, college or university library, to meet your information needs.
  • To borrow from your local college or university Library in BC, you need to bring a copy of the CPSLD Reciprocal Borrowing Identification Form located in your D2L shell, with you.

Access our library webpages for: 

  • e-books, print books, streaming video, and other materials owned by the NLC Libraries in the Library Catalogue, "How to" Guides,and searchable databases for full-text journal and other periodical articles. Search all EBSCO databases & a number of partner databases, as well as, the NLC Library Catalogue, simultaneously using the OneSearch box in the Library Homepage.
  • Free interlibrary document delivery of journal and other periodical articles.
  • Library Subject Guides for lists of recommended reference books, links to selected web sites, and related information.
  • Citing your sources and Copyright
  • Get Help from NLC Library staff and through AskAway (our online chat). See Green tab above called Get Help.

Electronic Resources

  • Access our e-books, databases and streaming videos using your 7 digit student number. Click here for Off-Campus Access information

Interlibrary/Intercampus Document Delivery for Journal Articles

  • These articles will be sent to you free of charge via email through a program called Titanfile. When your document has arrived, you will receive an email from TitanFile.
    •  Click on the green Access Files button which will take you to a landing page.
    • The article can then be downloaded by clicking on the file name directly or clicking on the grey Download all Files button. 
    • TitanFile delivery satisfies Canadian Copyright Law and our document delivery service is still free.

Books and other Library Materials:

  • NLC is unable to provide the delivery of library materials loans for students out of the province of British Columbia: this includes:
    • print books, newspapers, complete issues of magazines & journals, items on Reserve or Reference, DVDs and VHS tapes
  • NLC is able to send copies of Journal articles through TitanFile at no cost to you, regardless of where you live.
  • NLC is unable to obtain physical and audiovisual materials from other libraries.
  • NLC is unable to provide access to e-books and streaming videos from other libraries.
  • Contact a library near you, such as your local public library, college or university library, to meet your information needs.